Cape Town Takes Over As National Team

The Catholic Women’s League in Southern Africa is made up of the National Council, which comprises all the Diocesan Presidents and the Management Committee, as well as all the Past National Presidents.
The Diocesan and Regional Presidents are responsible for the running of the branches in each diocese and region and report to the National Management Committee.
Every three years at a conference, the National Management Committee (NMC) is taken over by a different diocese.
Over the weekend of the 28/29th August 2021, the Johannesburg National Management Committee handed over the administration to Cape Town at the 29th National Conference.
This conference was due to be held in August 2020, with 800 members registering for it. However, due to the sudden onslaught of the pandemic, this was reduced to 500 in May 2021 and later to 50 and sadly, to 15 members over the weekend of the 28th. We met at the Carmelite Retreat Centre in Benoni and despite so few of us being there, it was a very meaningful time spent together.
The outgoing NMC with the incoming NMC held business meetings throughout the weekend and at Mass on Saturday evening, celebrated by Fr Anthony Spencer, the outgoing Spiritual Chaplain, the handover took place.
Our new committee is as follows:
President: Anne Deary (Rondebosch branch)
1st Vice: Anna-Marie Landsberg (Wynberg branch)
2nd Vice: Pat McEwen (Rondebosch branch)
Secretary: Karena Colley (Bothasig branch)
Treasurer: Susan van der Valk (Tableview Evening branch)
News Corresp: Michaela Peart (Plumstead branch)
Spiritual Director: Fr Kevin Dadswell (Parish Priest, Mowbray)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Catholic Women's League Archdiocese of Cape Town